It’s all fun and games until …

16 06 2011

I’m not a gamer. In fact, the last game I played was Tekken, when my son was small. He would choose Alex, the T-Rex  and I would pick Roger, the kangaroo, and we’d duke it out.

 

 

 

 

Before that? I’m almost embarrassed to admit: Pacman and Frogger, which we played at an arcade a block away from our college.

So, I’m a little inept when it comes to advergaming.  What is advergaming?  It’s using electronic games to promote a product or brand. I’m sure you’ve seen them.  Many companies and organizations have made them.

Here, try a few out:

Coke Zero

McDonald’s

Capri Sun

Volvo

These games can be used to drive brand awareness, educate people about a product, and provide compelling calls to action, according to Mike Hawkyard, co-founder of 4TS Multimedia.  But, to be successful, first, the games must be fun. They must be highly addictive and enjoyable, that put the fun first and the advertising second.

Have you ever played one? Did you notice the ad part or was it just fun? (Not that there is anything wrong with that.) Did playing the game encourage you to purchase the product?

Tell me. I really want to know.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 06 2011
dcaryll

I think it’s influential when advertising is seen in sports video games, especially since we are so used to seeing advertising within the sporting events we watch all the time. It would be weird to us if sports video games didn’t feature advertising because they are so prevalent within sports. Check out this blog for some great references to video game advertising: http://viralconversations.com/marketing/viral-game-advertising/

The Tony Hawk game featuring Jeep brand throughout was very influential and fit in well with the consumers.

Thanks for your post. I grew up playing Tekken! You’d be surprised to see how far video games have come and how influential the brands within them can be.

16 06 2011
imcpat

I agree with you. In fact, many of the advergames I’m familiar with involve sports or some sort of competition.

Of course, part of that might also have to do with the need for these games to be addictive, as Hawkyard points out, and fun. If there’s no competitive element, I think they’d be pretty boring and therefore, pretty ineffective from an advertising standpoint.

Thanks for the link. I’m going to check it out now.

Leave a Reply

