Old Spice guy, talking babies and whee-ing pig

5 07 2011

There is ample academic research that supports the idea that if, we, as consumers, have a positive attitude toward a company’s ad or  website, there is a greater chance we’ll have a positive attitude toward the brand and that we’ll buy the brand’s product.

And, of course, the converse is true. If you have a negative feeling toward an ad, you’re probably not going to like the brand or buy anything from that company.

Have you found this to be true? Here are a few examples that you’re probably seen.

Old Spice

You know the ones I mean: good looking Isaiah Mustafa, usually dressed in a towel, saying “Hello, ladies,” in that deep, sexy voice.

Did this ad boost your positive feelings about Old Spice? Did it prompt you to purchase it? It enhanced my feelings of the brand, although I have to admit that I already had positive feelings because Old Spice was the scent my dad wore when I was little.

eTrade

Many of us laughed at these talking baby ads, but did they increase your positive feelings about eTrade? While I’m not prompted to invest in eTrade, it has made me view the company more positively, if for no other reason than because of the creativity of the ad.

Geico

What about this whee, whee, whee-ing pig ad from Geico? Did it affect your perception of the brand? Did it prompt you to switch insurance carriers or purchase insurance through Geico?

An interesting twist on this though, since we’ve been talking about emerging media, is how many of these “ads” you saw online instead of TV and if that affected your perception of them. After all, that Old Spice ad alone had more than 6.5 million views on YouTube, and millions more have watched the eTrade babies and  Geico’s  whee-ing  pig.

Do you have a more positive attitude toward the ad and the brand if someone you trust sends you a link to it instead of watching it on TV? I haven’t been able to find any research addressing that topic. Maybe that’s something I can do with my ample spare time.

Or you could just tell me your experiences. I really want to know.

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 07 2011
Amanda Hurley

Despite studying for marketing, I always “fall” for smart, funny and creative strategies. An example is the case of Old Spice. I love their commercials. I’m the shopper in our household and my husband doesn’t have a preference for deodorant. Out of nowhere (about a year ago) I started buying Old Spice. I would put money on the fact that it’s directly related to the fact that they make me laugh and catch my attention when they are on TV, thereby they grab my attention when I see the brand on the shelf.

7 07 2011
Pat

Amanda,
I’m with you. While I don’t ever expect to use eTrade, I was impressed that someone there either thought of that idea or hired someone who thought of that idea and then approved it.

I, too, always fall for interesting creative.In a world where we’re bombarded with thousands of messages each day, we have to create interesting and funny messages just to break through the clutter. Old Spice definitely did it for me.

Pat

Leave a Reply

